Back

Sick New World

May 1, 2024

I am unhappy to report the accessibility situation in Vegas was not as fortunate as last time. While the last festival I went to had plenty of seating, I don't think the organizers were prepared for a demographic that may have a higher disability rate, especially due to age. Additionally, they were not adhering to their own stated rules of asking companions to stand if more disabled people needed seats.

In other news, I was able to get in some circle pits and had a great time, even when I feel. I've got some nasty bruises where I hit the ground, and some where I was grabbed and hoisted back up, but overall I'm feeling really good about it for my first time in a pit. I was able to see 13 bands, plus two more at a sideshow the next day. The bad part was what should have been a relatively easy drive got almost doubled by two accidents on the way there, so I missed an album signing I had RVSP-ed for.